Come fly with me…


image

Somewhere over America…

So,  I’m starting to write this as we are passing Bangor (Maine?),  at  39000 feet and traveling at 540 mph with  387 miles left to go until New York. In Business Class. Yep, you read that right! On my first long haul flight!….

The more astute of you will now be thinking: ‘Hang on Wil, I thought you were initially going to Boston?…. and ‘You can’t afford Business Class ….can you?!’  Well I was & I can’t!  …

I turned up at Heathrow at 0730 Uk time all ready to go,  sailed through security and plonked myself near an information board. I realised something was wrong when the flight information said ‘Please Wait’ and as it got closer and closer to the scheduled departure I wandered over to the American Airlines desk… Turns out, the plane was on hold, then it was canceled ( and I still don’t know why…) but it was never officially announced…

My heart sank as I wondered how / when I would get to Boston. The next available plane was to JFK, then a terminal change and another flight to Boston.  – Not my idea of fun & as of yet I haven’t had to get my connection with 1hr 40m to make it. ( Update: I’m now on an earlier flight to Boston, editing this, – Got in an hour earlier!) but I wanted to get to America & waiting til Wednesday didn’t seem appealing….

I have a strange sense of déjà vu, checking in again, going through security etc, and  worrying that I’d have a naff seat as it was the only one left…. Finally at the gate I find out where I was going to be seated – Business Class. !!!! Elation and some happy phone calls to concerned parents followed; plus a bit of bragging to others :)

We were called first, and then, once seated, all the economy passengers filed past…. That was slightly awkward, especially as I wasn’t rocking the business class attire ( trackies & hoodie all the way!)

Once everybody had been seated, were given a complimentary glass of champagne / orange juice before take off and a very swanky menu to choose our entrée ( one of 4 courses (!) by the way ).

I had a fo par after the hot towels came round, by popping to the loo, but I soon got into the swing of business class….

Over Bristol we were served warm nuts (far to many almonds) and I opted for the Argentinean rather than French red:

image

Then our starts came out: A blue cheese, beetroot pear and almond salad, a combination of prawns & lentils with a bread roll ( I’m eating this with metal cutlery btw!) :

image

After this came the entrée: Beef fillet with a Gorgonzola crust, potato rosti &  roast veg ( the fillet was far too cooked for my liking, but it was non the less enjoyable!):

image

After this, I was pretty full, but I couldn’t say no an ice cream sundae  made with Ben and Jerry’s ….? :

image

After this, I decided to have a nap, and pressed the button that mad my seat go horizontal, while i arranged my pillow and blanket. ( I should hasten to add, that for most of this I have had noise cancelling headphones on – amazing invention; the roar of the cabin is muted – and had been watching Argo , good film):
This is me feeling full and happy and getting down to napping:

image

The amazing seat:

image

After a sumptuous nap,  I adjusted my seat to a more up right position and watched the Perks of being a Wallflower ( rather good i though…)  and consumed an afternoon  evening meal, though it wasn’t great – who puts cooked veg in a salad? :

image

obligatory selfie in loo:

image

I arrived in JFK an hour ahead of schedule, so managed to get an earlier flight to Boston (only 40min flying time) and am now safely ensconced in the Boston YHA. After some much needed sleep ( I think I’m on uk time of 4am v Boston time of 23.40) the adventure continues!

 

7 thoughts on “Come fly with me…

  1. I still can’t believe that you got to fly business class on a long haul flight. That’s one of my bucket list ambitions right there!

  2. Amazing! Something I’ve always wanted to do but never done too! And you just knew I was going to love the food pics didn’t you? What an amazing adventure – and you’ve only just begun. PS If you’re going to travel business class again, I’d learn how to spell faux pas if I were you… :)

  3. Pingback: First ( of many ) Musings on America | A Blog by Wil

  4. Pingback: Copenhagen, Denmark | A Blog by Wil

Leave a comment